Admin December 14, 2019

  • Tokyo 2020 will host the 25th edition of the Men’s Olympic Football Tournament
  • 16 teams, including hosts Japan, will compete to win the gold medal
  • We reveal the qualification dates and details for each confederation

Only 16 teams will have the privilege of vying for the gold medal at the Men’s Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020, the best of the best, which is why booking a place at the competition is an achievement in and of itself.

As the host nation, Japan automatically qualify to compete in the tournament. They have been joined by Europe’s four qualifiers Spain, Germany, Romania and France, Africa’s three qualifiers Egypt, Côte d’Ivoire and South Africa and the lone qualifier from Oceania, New Zealand.

The question now is, what does your national team need to do to fill one of the seven remaining places in Tokyo next year?

Let’s take a look at the regional qualification tournaments that have taken place in 2019 and then we’ll look ahead to what’s to come in 2020.

The UEFA European U-21 Championship took place in Italy and San Marino from 16 June to 30 June, where the top four teams at the end of the tournament qualified for Tokyo 2020. Spain finished as champions, defeating Germany 2-1 in the final. Of the four European nations that participated at the previous Men’s Olympic Football Tournament at Rio 2016, only Germany will return to Tokyo 2020.

Qualified teams for Tokyo 2020: Spain, Germany, Romania and France

The OFC Men’s Olympic Qualifier 2019 was held in Fiji from 21 September to 5 October, where eight teams competed for one coveted spot at Tokyo 2020. New Zealand won the ticket to Tokyo 2020 with a thumping 5-0 win over Solomon Islands in the continental decider. 

Qualified team for Tokyo 2020: New Zealand

The CAF U-23 Africa Cup of Nations took place in Egypt from 8 to 22 November, where eight nations vied for three qualification tickets to Tokyo 2020. Egypt lifted the trophy, while Côte d’Ivoire finished runners-up and South Africa won the match for third place.

Qualified teams for Tokyo 2020: Egypt, Côte d’Ivoire and South Africa

Here’s what’s to come in 2020:

Three spots at Tokyo 2020 will be up for grabs at the AFC U-23 Championship Thailand 2020, which will be held from 8 to 26 January. Sixteen nations will take part in the region’s final qualification tournament. If Japan reach the semi-finals, all three of the other semi-finalists will be guaranteed qualification to the Men’s Olympic Football Tournament as Japan are automatically allocated a spot as hosts. Japan, Korea Republic and Iraq were the three Asian nations who competed at the last Olympic tournament at Rio 2016.

AFC U-23 Championship Thailand 2020 groups:
Group A: Thailand, Iraq, Australia, Bahrain
Group B: Qatar, Japan, Saudi Arabia, Syria
Group C: Uzbekistan, Korea Republic, China PR, IR Iran
Group D: Vietnam, Korea DPR, Jordan, United Arab Emirates

South America
Colombia will host the South American U-23 qualifying tournament from 18 January to 9 February 2020. The top two teams from the competition will book tickets to Tokyo 2020. Argentina and Colombia qualified last time out, while Brazil, who qualified for Rio 2016 as hosts, went on to win gold.

Preolímpico Colombia 2020 groups:
Group A: Colombia, Chile, Venezuela, Ecuador, Argentina
Group B: Brazil, Paraguay, Bolivia, Uruguay, Peru

North, Central America and Caribbean
The Concacaf’s Men’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament is scheduled to take place from 20 March to 1 April in Guadalajara, Mexico. The tournament will see eight teams from the region compete for two spots at Tokyo 2020. The group stage draw for the Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship will take place on 9 January 2020.

Updated on 13 December 2019