Admin November 8, 2019

  • Concacaf confirms final draw for region’s qualifiers for Women’s Olympic Football Tournament
  • Rio 2016 bronze medallists Canada drawn in tough-looking Group B
  • Edinburg, Houston and Los Angeles announced as host cities

The road to the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020 just got a lot more clear for the eight teams that will participate in Concacaf’s final qualifiers that will be held from 28 January to 9 February 2020.

Eight teams will compete for two available spots at next year’s Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. The teams will compete in two groups in a round-robin style format with the top two finishers in each group advancing to the semi-finals. The winners of the semi-finals will both qualify for the final and book a ticket to the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020.

The draw was conducted at the region’s headquarters in Miami, Florida and was streamed live on the confederation’s social media platforms. Fans can watch a replay of the event below.

As well as determining the groups for the qualifiers, Concacaf also took the opportunity to unveil the host cities, which will be Edinburg (Texas), Houston (Texas) and Los Angeles (California).

Canada were the most successful team from Concacaf at the most recent Women’s Olympic Football Tournament Rio 2016 when they defeated hosts Brazil in the match for third place to claim the bronze medal.

USA are the holders of the Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament, however, as they defeated Canada 2-0 in the final in 2016.