Admin September 2, 2019

The Best FIFA Football Awards

  • Finalists for eight The Best awards announced
  • Event streamed live from San Siro stadium in Milan
  • Voting to open for FIFA Fan Award

Who has won the race to step onto the podium? This question, for eight of the 11 awards to be handed out at The Best FIFA Football Awards™ in Milan, was answered on Monday 2 September at the fabled San Siro stadium.

Voting from the key voices in the football community – players, coaches, fans and media – helped determine the finalists for The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Player and Coach awards, while four more awards will see their final trios announced too.

Which awards had their finalists revealed?

The final three nominees remaining for each of the following awards were announced:

  • FIFA Puskás Award:
    Leo Messi, Juan Fernando Quintero, Daniel Zsori
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper Award:
    Alisson, Ederson, Marc-André ter Stegen
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper Award:
    Christiane Endler, Hedvig Lindahl, Sari van Veenendaal
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach Award:
    Jill Ellis, Phil Neville, Sarina Wiegman
  • The FIFA Fan Award:
    Silvia Grecco, Netherlands fans at the Women’s World Cup, Justo Sánchez
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach Award:
    Pep Guardiola, Jurgen Klopp, Muaricio Pochettino
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player Award:
    Lucy Bronze, Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award:
    Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Virgil van Dijk

Where could I watch the announcement?

We streamed live across a variety of our digital platforms, on:

And we had content across our other platforms too, namely:

We brought you exclusive, behind-the-scenes content from the announcement via Instagram Stories.

What time did it start?

The event at the San Siro will kick off at 12:00 CEST.

What happens after the announcement?

The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Coach, Player awards:
The winner of the voting by national team captains, coaches, fans and media will be announced during The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony at the Teatro all Scala in Milan on Monday 23 September.

FIFA Fan Award:
Voting will open shortly after the finalists are announced, with fans from around the world able to choose their favourite right up until the ceremony.

FIFA Puskás Award:
The three finalists selected by the users will be put up for a vote among FIFA Legends, who will decide the award winner.

The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Goalkeeper awards:
The winner of the award will be selected by a panel of experts chosen by FIFA, comprised of former goalkeepers and strikers.